Hesperaloe parviflora…from a sad fate to a happier future

Neglected and unloved. The picture of shame. Hesperaloe parviflora April 15

Neglected and unloved. The picture of shame. Hesperaloe parviflora April 15

This is a sad tale. I grew from seed, using the bizarre-but-it-works Deno seed growing method, one plant of Hesperaloe parviflora, the red yucca from the Chihuahua desert in Mexico amongst other hot places. I was astonished that I managed it. This was about eight years ago, I think.  Then, a combination of inexperience and boredom took hold, which led to me spending a lot of time looking at a stalk and getting fed up with it. To be perfectly honest, and I do stand condemned here, I gave up on it.  At some point, about 3 years later, I planted the stalk in a pot with dried-out used compost, and then ignored it.  Last winter, as I took the pots in, I even left this pot more or less in the dark and totally dry in the garage at the back.

More than a month ago, I glanced at it and shuddered, but also noticed that it was still alive.  Yesterday, I faced down my shame and got the pot out.  The photo above shows the sorry state of the plant, but it is still alive. So, frankly, if something is so determined to survive, I take my hat off to it and am now determined to do the right thing by it. By the way, ‘The Seed Site’ is an invaluable tool to the growing-from-seed brigade, it bailed me out tons of times in the early days and still does.

Hesperaloe parviflora as it should look. Photo credit: www.finegardening.com

Hesperaloe parviflora as it should look.
Photo credit: http://www.finegardening.com

This is how it should look, and I have some way to go to restore things.  If I am lucky, and it really does have a will to survive, it will produce flowers….

Hesperaloe flowering.. Photo credit: botanical-journeys-plant-guides.com

Hesperaloe flowering..
Photo credit: botanical-journeys-plant-guides.com

I am ashamed of myself. Must do better.

Leave a Reply

